Follow this link to search this site or this link to skip to page content
header graphic header graphic
header graphic Home Catalog Research Events About Us Library Cards
header graphic Submit Website Search
Page content starts here
There are 2 columns of content to choose from. Column 1 is narrow and has mostly links to column 1 Column 2 contains the main page content to column 2
Databases

What is a database?

Databases are online versions of print encyclopedias and other reference books which the library pays for just like buying books.

They do not count as “Internet” resources because they provide the same information as reference books - they are just in an “electronic” format for easier access.

How to log in:
  • Click on the database name to begin. 

  • If you are at home or school, you need to log-in with your Mesa library card number and PIN to use them. If you do not know your PIN, you will have to come in to the library to choose one.

  • Write down the name of the database you want to use before you log-in from home or school, because we have a long list of databases to choose from.

Help me...
Get a PinChoose a databaseGet technical help

Biography Resource Center Biography Resource Center
Entries from 80 biographical reference books on noted U.S. and international individuals.

History Resource Center World

History Resource Center: World
Encyclopedia & periodical articles, biographies, primary resource documents and timelines on the most studied topics in world history.  
History Resource Center U.S. History Resource Center: U.S.
Encyclopedia & periodical articles, biographies, overview essays and timelines on the most studied topics in U.S. history.   
Infotrac InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for high school students. Includes magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, almanacs and dictionaries.    
Learn a Test Learn-a-Test
Learn-a-Test will help you prepare for the ACT, SAT, GED, and more! Take practice tests online. Get instant scores and explanations of right and wrong answers. Create an account to have your practice tests scored. With your account, you can stop a test mid-way through, then pick up where you left off next time you log in.  
LitFinder Poem/LitFinder (includes PoemFinder)
Now includes stories, essays and poems! Find a poem using 27 possible fields, most popular being keyword, subject and poet. 
Literature Resource Center Literature Resource Center
Includes journal articles, critical essays, plot summaries, author biographies and portraits, and an encyclopedia of literary terms. Includes Contemporary Authors & Contemporary Literary Criticism.
EbscoHost MasterFile Premier - Ebsco - Available in English and Spanish. Covers 2,800 periodicals on current events, general interest, social science, business and education. 1,800 are full-text.
Available in English and Spanish. Covers 2,800 periodicals on current events, general interest, social science, business and education. 1,800 are full-text. 
Opposing ViewPoints Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Online version of pro and con research on social issues including abortion, gun control, terrorism, race relations and more. Enhanced with periodical articles.
SIRS SIRS Social Issues
Pro and con articles on social, scientific, health, economic political and global issues from 1,500 magazines, journals and government publications, 1989 to present. Additional features include current World Almanac and Maps of the World. 
Footer links: CityofMesa.org/Residents CityofMesa.org/Visitor CityofMesa.org/Business CityofMesa.org/Government CityofMesa.org/Jobs Add to MyMesa Contact Us Feedback Policies and Disclaimers CityofMesa.org
page footer
CityofMesa.org/Residents CityofMesa.org/Visitor CityofMesa.org/Business CityofMesa.org/Government CityofMesa.org/Jobs Add to MyMesa Contact Information Feedback Policies User Survey CityofMesa.org